The British Fashion Awards 2019

A look at the evening and past year where diversity and inclusion has taken centre stage.

Art and Fashion are both intersecting areas and often very exciting, especially when experimented with as at this year’s show.

The 2019 British Fashion Awards took place on Monday 2nd December, returning to London’s iconic venue – The Royal Albert Hall. The annual celebration of creativity and innovation shone a spotlight on exceptional individuals, and businesses, that have made significant contributions to the (global) fashion industry over the past twelve months.

This year’s event was hosted by Golden Globe winning actress Tracee Ellis Ross (mixed•ish) and saw the likes of A$AP Rocky and Cate Blanchett in attendance. Here is a brief of the evening and everything that happened.

With the red carpet rolled out over the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Steps and the temperature plummeting to zero – as guests arrived at the 2019 British Fashion Awards, the swiftest of step-and-repeats was necessary, yet spirits were warmer.

The evening kicked off with its illustrious host proceeding in a Loewe white handkerchief dress (amongst many others throughout the evening) from Jonathan Anderson’s Spring / Summer 2020 Collection, which has received critical acclaim from several publishers including Vogue which has hailed it as his most exquisitely crafted, ready to wear yet. The angelic look, complemented by a giant beaded collar and high heels, set the tone for a night celebrating the best in both British and international fashion on British soil. The East London-based designer Anderson was nominated in four categories for both his work at the Spanish house and his eponymous brand, JW Anderson.

Within the first five minutes of her opening skit, the actress impressed the audience with her queen’s English – summing up Brexit, Marks & Spencer, fish and chips, and Harry Styles. Humour aside, Ross celebrated the power of fashion, beauty, and self-love throughout the awards, making it one for the books. Several guests attended the event including pop-phenomenons Rihanna and Ellie Goulding, as well as the biggest names in fashion such as Giorgio Armani.

Here are the list of winners and nominees of the respected occasion:

Accessories Designer of the Year

Alessandro Michele for Gucci

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta – WINNER

Jonathan Anderson for Loewe

Kim Jones for Dior Men

Simon Porte Jacquemus for Jacquemus

Brand of the Year

Bottega Veneta – WINNER





British Designer of the Year Menswear

Craig Green for Craig Green

Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner

Kim Jones for Dior Men – WINNER

Martine Rose for Martine Rose

Riccardo Tisci for Burberry

British Designer of the Year Womenswear

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta – WINNER

John Galliano for Maison Margiela

Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson & Loewe

Richard Quinn for Richard Quinn

Simone Rocha for Simone Rocha

British Emerging Talent Menswear

Ben Cottrell and Matthew Dainty for Cottweiler

Bethany Williams for Bethany Williams – WINNER

Kiko Kostadinov for Kiko Kostadinov

Phoebe English for Phoebe English

Sofia Prantera for Aries

British Emerging Talent Womenswear

Laura and Deanna Fanning for Kiko Kostadinov

Matty Bovan for Matty Bovan

Phoebe English for Phoebe English

Rejina Pyo for Rejina Pyo – WINNER

Rosh Mahtani for Alighieri

Business Leader

Alexandre Arnault for Rimowa

José Neves for Farfetch

Marco Bizzarri for Gucci

Marco Gobbetti for Burberry

Remo Ruffini for Moncler – WINNER

Designer of the Year

Alessandro Michele for Gucci

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta – WINNER

Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson & Loewe

Kim Jones for Dior Men

Miuccia Prada for Prada

Model of the Year

Adesuwa Aighewi

Adut Akech – WINNER

Adwoa Aboah

Kaia Gerber

Winnie Harlow

Urban Luxe


Fenty – WINNER

Marine Serre

Martine Rose

Moncler Genius

Fashion Icon

Naomi Campbell

Outstanding Achievement Award

Giorgio Armani

Trailblazer Award

Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen

Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator

Sam McKnight

Designers’ Designer Award

Christopher Kane – WINNER

Jonathan Anderson

Margaret Howell

Roksanda Ilincic

Simone Rocha

By Zach Omitowoju

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: